September 3, 2008

Mexico or bust.

Posted in libraries, travel tagged , , , at 1:05 am by thetravelinglibrarian

40 Day countdown!

This blog will give insight to my upcoming trip to San Miguel de Allende, Mexico.  I will be traveling with eight other library school students.  During this trip we will work in a biblioteca publica for seven days.  Our work will include cataloging and collection development.  In preparation for this excursion we have been assigned readings from Serving Latino Communities, by Camila Alire and Orlando Archibeque, along with a number of journal articles.  Upcoming posts will provide reflection for how these readings may influence the philosophies and service methodologies practiced during our stay in SMA. 

I am excited to have been given the opportunity to put into practice the skills and experiences I have acquired during the last two years as a canadidate for a Master of Library Science degree.  I know this experience will help me build a strong service foundation as a library professional. 

San Miguel de Allende is a beautiful colonial town in the mountains of Mexico.  The temperature stays around 76 degrees all year long.  A large number of American and Canadian expatriates reside in SMA, and tourism is on the rise.  In the center of town is the Jardin.  It is bordered by a huge pink church, Parroquia de San Miguel Arcangel, built in 1683.  It looks like a pretty big deal, and I can’t wait to see it in person!

By PhotoDevWest

2 Comments »

  1. Emme said,

    Cadie, I love your blog! I like the links and how it is organized. San Miguel, here we come!

  2. cindy said,

    here is a tip. there is a a place for fish tacos and great carrott cake behind espinos. say hello to christian and carla for me if you will 🙂 they are the owners.


Leave a comment